28 February 2014

You Never Bring Me Flowers

You Never Bring Me Flowers

 

 
Flower print seems to have taken over my life lately and I seem to unable to buy anything that isn't covered with flowers.  The prints are definately busier for the Spring/Summer which I am loving.
 
Above are some of my favourites that are around at the moment.  I couldn't resist adding the Matthew Williamson one in there, it is divine.
 
Opening my wardrobe at the moment is a little like falling into a flower garden, but then, after so many years of wearing all black, these floral prints are making me very happy, which is the point isn't it?
 
Hope you are all having a fab Friday xx

26 February 2014

A Night at the Oscars

I can't believe that it is the Oscars next week, that seems to have come around so quickly this year!

One of my favourite things about watching the Oscars is seeing the fashion.  I can't even imagine how excited I would be to go to an event like that, especially with all the designers clamoring to dress you and the amazing jewellery you get to wear.  Sadly that is never going to happen for me, but what I thought that I would do was create a dream Oscars look.

Plus size women are scrutinized even more on the red carpet and more often that not are slated in the press for their choices.  I believe that there is absolutely no reason why you can't look like a million dollars, no matter what your size, so here is would be my look.










I think this outfit would look amazing on the red carpet and is something I would love to wear.  Sadly I think the diamonds may be out of my reach, but a girl can dream!


24 February 2014

Scarlett & Jo Feather Print Tunic Dress

I was recently contacted by the lovely Lucy of Scarlett & Jo and was asked if I wanted to review the Feather Print Tunic Dress.  Having seen pictures of the dress on the British Plus Size Fashion Weekend I already knew that I loved it and jumped at the chance.

The tunic dress comes with an underslip and then the chiffon over layer with the gorgeous feather print pattern.  The patterning is so beautiful but I wanted to try a different edge to my original idea of bare legs and sandals so I went with purple tights from +Yours Clothing and my new ankle boots from +Dorothy Perkins.

I like pieces that you can wear in different seasons with the aid of different accessories so until the weather warms up it will rocking the tights and boots look and then bare legs and pretty sandals in the Summer!

You can buy the tunic dress at +Evans here for £40.00   









* Item was sent for review, but all opinions are my own

23 February 2014

These Boots Are Made For..

I LOVE shoes.  I am very specific about the type and style of shoe that I like, but once I find the right one, it is true love.

One thing I always have problems with is finding the perfect black ankle boots.  I have such a long checklist when it comes to ankle boots that I rarely find one that encompasses everything.

Stylish but comfortable, not boring; heel not too high but not too low, must go with trousers, jeans and dresses.  So I don’t want much at all.

Anyway, I found them!!!  They are from +Dorothy Perkins  and are currently on sale for £25.00 and I love them.  Sorry for the quality of the photos, trying to take photos of your own shoes whilst wearing them is damn awkward!





I was going to put a link up to the boots but unfortunately they are not on the website for some reason so I can't, but I urge you to run out and buy them!

Don't forget to check out my competition to win a canvas print of your favourite photograph here


21 February 2014

Competition Time!

I was recently contacted by the lovely Lori of Canvas Design in relation to reviewing a canvas print.

The idea behind this is a great one.  You use one of your own photographs, be it family, friends or something from your holidays and get it printed onto canvas in a size of your choosing.  I have seen a few friends do this previously and was excited to do something myself.

All you have to do is have an image of a quality of 500kb upwards.  You simply upload your image, choose the sizing you require and you are good to go.  The prices are very competitive, starting at £7.99 for a 6 x 6 inch canvas and the delivery is free in the UK.

I choose a film still from my favourite film, Breakfast at Tiffanys together with a quote from Coco Chanel which I feel goes so well with Holly Golightly, "In order to be irreplaceable, one must always be different".




I was actually so happy with the canvas print that the next day I ordered another one, more personal this time, a picture of my dad and I when I was a little girl.  I can't wait for that one to arrive.  



I am happy to announce also that Canvas Design have also kindly allowed to me to give away one of the bespoke canvas prints of one of your own photographs, with a size of anything between 6x6 inches to 40x40.  

As an additional bonus for people who don't win the competition, I also have a discount code of BLOG15 in order to get 15% off the price of your order.



17 February 2014

Joe Brown's Flattering Floral Dress

For one reason or another I haven't managed to get a new outfit on the post for a while now.  I have lots of new clothing to show you but no time to photograph it!

Today though I managed to grab five minutes to show you my new Spring dress from Joe Brown at +Simply Be  As soon as I saw it in the new Joe Brown collection I knew it had to be mine.  The floral print is something that I love to wear and the shaping of the dress is just right for the style I like to wear.

Today has been the usual wet, windy and cold but I have had absolutely had it with Winter clothing and am moving to Spring, whether the weather agrees with me or not.









You can find the dress here
Shoes are from Hush Puppy

15 February 2014

I Feel Good





You know sometimes when you spend ages getting ready for a night out, an event or even just a blog post, and the reflection in mirror isn't what you hoped? This challenge is for those times when you look in the mirror, no pre planning involved, and think "I look good today".

We all have our good days and our bad, but this challenge is to record those good days and to remember that confidence, at any size, is beautiful.


Today's photo is part of a series that I started on Tuesday.  A mini challenge to myself to publish a photograph of myself each day, with my tooth gap clearly visible and showing.  Not hiding it like I normally try to do.

Every day for as long as I can remember I have pushed my tongue back the gap in my teeth in photos because I hated it so much, but I have decided that now is the time to make peace with the gap.  It is part of me and it one of the things that make me who I am.

My #embracethegap photographs will appear until I feel comfortable with it, and here is today's (I feel like I am channeling Callie Thorpe in this picture, which is no bad thing!) :



13 February 2014

A Fine Romance

When it comes to clothing I have spent the last year really getting a feel for what I love to wear.  I have tried many colours, prints and styles but have always stayed with dresses as they just give me that extra smile when I am wearing one.
 
I am loving some of the new collections that are around for Spring but when I saw the Springtime Romance collection from Scarlett & Jo I gave a little squeal.  I would wear this entire collection and would dance around whilst doing so.  I have never seen a collection of dresses that have been designed as though they somehow had me personally in mind.
 
A little bit vintage, feminine, floral prints, flattering shapes which will work with my body, I literally want all of them, but here are some of my absolute favourites.
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
Which dresses have caught your eye?