23 April 2017

Petals On The Wind

When I was 21, I moved to Ireland.  Being 21, it was not a considered decision.  My good friend was moving home and asked if I would like to come and live in Ireland with her.  I said yes immediately.

I left my job, sold my car, packed up my belongings and without hesitation upped sticks and got on the boat to Ireland.   It was the most impulsive thing that I had ever done and the best thing I have ever done.

We stayed in Ireland six months, before deciding to move again to Jersey.  I remember at the time feeling like I was a petal on the wind, going wherever the wind decided to take me.  I did not want to put down roots anyway.  If someone had offered, they could have put me in a parcel and shipped me off to Australia and I would have agreed.

Sadly, for this petal, my journey began and ended in Ireland.  Hopping from country to country, even when you are working, involves money.  I set off for Ireland with no savings and despite getting a full time job there, I did not have the funds to go to Jersey.  My friend left, and I went back to England.

At the time I swore that I would make enough money and then join my friend in Jersey.  It did not happen.  I was offered a better job back at at my old firm and starting working my way up the ranks.  Comfortable and a regular paycheck, along with the typical many nights out of a 21 year old meant no savings.

Do I have regrets?  No.  I don't believe in regrets, it is a fool's game.  I am now in a great position at the firm I went back to, I have had some great times and I am happy.  I believe everything happens for a reason and therefore, perhaps Jersey was not meant for me.

Now though, at 38, my feet has begun to itch again.  I wrote recently about wanting to take a trip to Barcelona on my own.  I want to go, experience the city, sit by the harbour with a glass of wine and nothing else but my thoughts and do so comfortable in my own skin.

Everything in my life is in flux at the moment.  I know that I am going to be making changes over the next few years, positive ones that will move me forward with my life and more travel, is definately one of the changes that I want to make.

21 April 2017

An Opera Affair


Life has certainly changed since this little boy came into my life.  Used to Yorkshire Terriers that loved nothing more than to sleep, Simba loves to play, cuddle with his mummy and have frequent walks.  We take him three times a day and he still has the energy to play with his teddy for a couple of hours in the evening.

I love taking him for a walk.  He trots away in front of me on the long lead, looking back every few feet to make sure that his mummy is still there.

On our usual walk we always pass a house that has a garage attached, with a man tinkering with his motorbike.  I am convinced he lives in the garage as I never see him out of it.

I always walk a little slower past that house because as he works on his motorbike, he is playing classical music full blast.  The kind that I love.  There is something about classical music that just speaks to me and stops me in my tracks.



One of my favourite pieces is Chopin, Nocturne No 2 which is a well known song, but I also like look out for more modern composers.  I discovered a man called Ilya Beshevli who you can find on Soundcloud.  What he can do with a piano just speaks to my soul.  His music, particularly "Snow Waltz" I could listen to for hours.  It brings me peace.

Music like that slows the world down for me and brings me calm.

The thing about classical music however is that I do not like to listen to it with earphones.  Music like that needs to fill the room and flow around it.   The thing is, all of my music is stored on my laptop.  I do not own any CDs anymore, nor have a stereo that can flood the room with music.  But yet, that is still too modern for me for this music.

What I want, and think that I am going to invest in some time in the next few months is a classic looking turntable.  I want to buy some classical music on vinyl and just sit, with a glass of wine and my eyes closed and listen.


Peace in your life and peace in your mind can be hard to find sometimes.  Classical music is my safe space and I am going to make this vision of mine come true.

What kind of music do you like to listen to?

20 April 2017

Vintage with a Modern Twist

I love all things vintage.  Vintage clothes, vintage accessories, old pieces of furniture; I love it all.

When it comes to vintage clothing, there are so many options out there.  When you are plus size, it can be hard to source vintage pieces that work with your body; but there are out there if you look!  There are many sites now that also offer vintage inspired pieces with a modern twist so I thought that we could play a game today; which is the real vintage and which is not!


Now, I am going to share the links so that you can buy/look at the dresses if you wish, but first, comment in the comment section which you think are authentic vintage, and which aren't!

Top Right: Peach Dress Rokit
Bottom Left: Blue & Gold Dress Rokit
Bottom Right: Red Dress Starlet

I thought that I would share a couple of pictures with a some of my dresses which I have tried to work with a combination of a modern and vintage style.




Finally, a glimpse of a closet that I always dreamed of.


I look forward to seeing your guesses in the comments section!

19 April 2017

Fashion Is Your Friend, Not Your Enemy

pexels-photo-195365.jpeg
Pexels At: Unsplash

There are times where even the most confident fat girl feels society thinks she’s not thin enough for fashion. Hell, we just don't feel it, we experience it and sometimes, that can really affect our confidence.

For years, numerous articles warned fat women off wearing vertical stripes, tight dresses and short skirts to make their weight less noticeable. In turn, this had led to thousands of women feeling ashamed, and alienated by their bodies as they hide impressive figures in baggy jeans, sweaters and T-shirts in a desperate bid to fool people into thinking they’re smaller. Enough is enough. We are done hiding away because that is what some in society seem to want.

Over the past few years, things have slowly started to change thanks to an army of body positive beauty bloggers, plus-size bloggers and healthy, but curvy fitness followers! Fashion is no longer about being thin or the door is closed to you, people no matter what size they are, are beginning to realise being happy is far more important than fitting into a certain dress size.

Earn Your Stripes

How many times have you seen a fashion article talk about suiting vertical, horizontal and diagonal stripes depending on your body shape? Thinner girls were given carte blanche to wear whatever they liked, while those of us with more shape we told, almost covertly, avoid horizontal stripes as they’ll accentuate your figure. Well, so what? Now’s the time to embrace your curves because it’s not just possible, horizontal stripes look downright amazing on someone who looks like a woman and if a striped knit dress clings in all the right places it can look super sexy too!

The Right Fit

There is no "right fit". If you want to wear baggy clothes, then rock them. If you want to wear a skin tight dress, you wear that dress with a swagger. I found it quite helpful to look at tips to shop for your shape. Working out whether you are an hourglass, pear, apple etc shape can assist with some of your earlier decisions when you are changing up your style.

pexels-photo-103127.jpeg

Pexels At: Julian Jagtenberg

Stick To The One Piece


Up until very recently, even the most progressive fashion magazines have struggled when it comes to swimwear season and advising women on what to wear if they’re over a size 16. Look, it’s simple.

Wear what you feel great in.

If that’s a swimming costume great, but if it’s a fifties style halter neck bikini or tankini with flamingo fashion jewellery then that’s awesome too! Stop worrying about what everyone else looks like in their swimwear and just focus on having fun. Most people will tell you the most attractive thing about a woman is when she's just being herself and feeling confident.

Out Of Print

Who says you can’t mix colors, fabrics and prints? Sometimes the most fashion forward, on trend outfits are a color clashing whirlwind of gorgeous shades, luxuriously soft material and to die for tropical prints. Anyone who knows me, knows that I wear print every single day and I love it.

Looking for some inspiration? Just check out the #psbloggers tag on Instagram or start following plus size fashion bloggers because when it comes to amazing street style looks these ladies aren’t afraid to push the envelope!

I would highly recommend that you check out Danielle Vanier, Callie Thorpe and the gorgeous George from Fuller Figure Fuller Bust for some great style and confident tips for wearing exacting what you want, when you want.


pexels-photo-112589.jpeg

Pexels At: Unsplash

18 April 2017

A Shoe In

I have always loved shoes.  Specifically the Mary Jane kind.  Even when my whole wardrobe was black, I always had beautiful shoes, usually in a bright colour to detract from the black on my body.

Shoes are easy to fall in love with.  You walk into a shop or browse online and suddenly there they are, the perfect pair.  You fall a little bit in love.  The trouble is, they don't fall in love with you.  You make the compromises in the relationship.


I have always had various issues with the shoes that I wear.  My fit veers between an E and EE fitting so finding nice ones can be hard.  My balance is not the best (to say the least) so heel height is a problem.  I can't wear pointed shoes because of my issue with staircases.

That said, for the right pair of shoes I have always ignored these issues.  I have squeezed my feet into shoes that were too narrow, but were beautiful.  I have bought heels too high for my comfort because they were fabulous.

I was looking my shoe cupboard this weekend and there were so many shoes that I no longer wear or have never worn because I bought after falling in love, but in reality that just were not practical. A major clear out was in order and by the end, I have gotten rid of nine pairs of shoes.  Sob!

I decided that I needed a new philosophy when it comes to my shoe buying.  They can still be beautiful, but I need to be able to wear them in comfort.  Not in pain and not compromising what I can actually walk in without falling over.

Here are some that I am currently looking at:



I love these Vans Shoes from Skate Hut.  I would wear these on a casual weekend with jeans or alternatively, they would look great with a casual black dress.  There is no reason why you can't wear casual shoes with a nice dress.  I have seen Callie from From the Corners of the Curve do this really well.

I am just about to buy these wedges from SimplyBe as they will perfect for the summer.  Black which goes with anything, a wedge which negates some of the heel height and a good grip sole (which is it about summer sandals that have really slippery soles???)


These nude fit loafers from Evans are perfect for work and look so stylish and comfortable.  

These knee high boots from Yours and are available (like all the shoes I have featured in this post) available in an E fit.  With a heel height of 3 inches which is a manageable height, these boots with go wonderfully with a lovely dress or will style up a pair of jeans.

Those are my current picks for shoes that work with my limitations, whilst still being stylish and gorgeous.

15 April 2017

Decorating Your Dream House

Let’s paint a little picture, imagine your dream house, a cottage in the countryside? A villa vista in the heart of Spain? Or a deluxe apartment in the hustle and bustle of New York? No matter what it is, we will take a ponder over the decorations which are to make it look beautiful and majestic.



For the Inside

Now, we all like displaying some ornaments, especially the cute crystal animals, but the question is, when do we stop collecting them? We can all go overboard with the bric-a-brac, but the saying ‘quality over quantity’ applies here. Use shelving and bookcases to save on space and display cabinets to store your favourite trinkets. By doing this, you’re not overloading your dining table with unnecessary objects and putting the correct things on it...Food!

How about the Flora? Just by perusing the exotic flower range on floraqueen reviews, this can give you an idea of the various types of flowers which can adorn your dream home. From tulips to daffodils, carnations to roses, flowers can brighten up a home without much hassle at all. Also, flowers don’t last forever (except the fake ones), this means you can keep replacing them, introducing a different contrast of colours to your house every time.

Artwork is simple yet a beautiful addition to any room in the house. It can bring a room alive with vivid and vibrant colours. There are various ways you can decorate with artwork. One of these ways is wall murals, which can leave guests with a hanging jaw. Whether you’re a Van Gogh lover or a Banksy fan, your creative juices will flow and show as you begin to decorate.



Mirrors are often overlooked when it comes to decorating, but sometimes they can be the most important feature of a room. They can make a place seem much bigger, brighter and better, especially if the room is cramped looking and lacking in natural light. The bathroom is a place which always needs to look good, especially for guests, which is why various mirror designs can give the bathroom a grand feel to it. You can even watch yourself as you go to the toilet (sorry that was uncalled for).






For the Outside


Decorating the garden is the best part. You can personalise it and add your own quirky, original style to it. You don’t even need to splash out too much on what you buy. By using old rusty buckets to plant flowers, patio furniture, and retro lights, these simple things can give the exterior of your house a funky and unique look!


And then you have the more classy look. The water fountains, the sculptures, and the intricate pavements. The garden which everyone wishes were theirs, these require a lot of time and patience in creating. But it is worth it in the end.

Now you’ve created a perfect image of what your dream house will look like, let’s start making it for real.


*Collaborative piece

13 April 2017

Chic Swimwear To Suit Every Shape


Having total confidence while sporting your swimwear isn’t a matter of flipping a switch and deciding you’re ready to bare all at the beach. It’s about finding the exact right swimsuit for your body shape, one that makes you feel comfortable and stylish all at the same time.


This usually involves one of my favourite things – trying on all the swimsuits you can to see what works best for you. To get started, here are a few of my favourite cuts and styles, with variations that look great on just about everyone.




Tankini
I love a good tankini because it has all the fun and flare of a two piece but the coverage of a one piece. There are a wide selection of different styles in this year’s swimwear range from Figleaves, not least because you can mix and match with different coloured bottoms or go with the classic set. Tankinis are especially great if you love wearing a two piece but aren’t totally comfortable showing off your stomach. Think of it as training wheels for a bikini once you’ve got your beach confidence up, but it’s still a perfectly lovely option on its own.







Classic bikini
You don’t have to be a specific size to wear a bikini – these swimwear staples are for everybody. That said, they come in about as many shapes and sizes as you can think of, and the different styles can be used to accentuate different parts of your body.

There are bandeau tops for women with smaller busts and sturdier tops with underwire to help support larger ones. Halter necks are great for cutting lines into wider shoulders, while boy shorts provide maximum coverage in the hip area. But above all, it’s about wearing what you want, and looking amazing while you do it.





Swim-dress
It’s a swimsuit, it’s a dress, it’s a swim-dress! Swim dresses are not only adorable but incredibly versatile – that whole I-don’t-feel-comfortable-wearing-my-bikini-to-the-shop problem is no longer a thing. Plus, its flowy cut will taper away from the body and give you more room to breathe. Swim-dresses like this cute, spotty one from Sainsbury’s swimwear line give you enough coverage to transition from beach- or pool-side to back-on-the-street in, well, no time at all.






High waisted bikini
High waisted bikinis are essentially tankinis but in reverse. You’ve got much of the coverage of a one piece, but the fun of a two, except the coverage this time is coming from the bottom. They ooze retro glamour while still being ultra-contemporary, especially when you add a cute print or flash of bling into the mix. What’s more is, you’ve still got the versatility of bikini tops, so if you want to highlight your upper half while maintaining a little more coverage below, you’re in good hands.


One piece
Ah, the classic all-rounder. Everyone looks good in a one piece swimsuit. That’s because they come in so many shapes and sizes. You can wear a one piece with a low V in the front or the back, high up on your hips, with a ruched middle or cut-outs along the sides. Whatever you fancy, there’s a one piece to suit your body type. I can pretty much guarantee it.

The more swimsuit types you’ve got on hand in your closet, the better. What’s your favourite poolside style?


8 April 2017

Your Fantasy Dinner Party

We have all played this game.  If you could host a dinner party and invite absolutely anyone, who would it be?

I have always found this game interesting as the people who you choose says a lot about you as a person.  You can choose anyone whom you wish, alive or dead so there is a plethora of people to choose from.  But which ones?


I imagine a large dining room.  Nothing too formal, a round table which means that everyone can talk to each other.  Quite a few different, small, courses so that you are not eating one big meal.  Alcohol flowing.  The meal reaches the dessert course and the wine has been flowing all night.  People lose their inhibitions and speak freely.  Who would you want to talk to?

My first invitation would be:      God.

Now.  The people who know me, know that I am not a believer.  So my invite would answer the question if he/she existed at all.  Hey God, do you RSVP?  Secondly, can you imagine the questions that you could ask?  

My second invitation would be:       Eddie Izzard

I am not a big fan of comedians but I love Eddie.  I love his thought process, his passion and very strong sense of self (although not a great fan of how he chooses to promote his political opinion.  I agree with many of his stances, I just think he goes around it the wrong way). 

Eddie came out as a transsexual in 1985.  The way he speaks about his gender identity is so simple, that it makes you wonder how anyone could misunderstand:

“If you look at a tiger, you go ‘ooh, tiger!’, we don’t go ‘girl tiger’ or ‘boy tiger’. We are obsessed by the genders because we grow up in one gender or another. No other animal is obsessed by our gender – they don’t give a monkeys about our gender.
“No matter what sex or sexuality, how you self-identity, or who you fancy, matters not one whit – what do you do in life? What do you make? What do you add to the human existence? That’s what’s matters."

My third choice would be:        J K Rowling

Her first Harry Potter book was published in 1997, although I do not remember coming across the books until probably the early 2000s.  She created a world so complete and so intricate that it drew in both children and adults alike.  Although I love to write, I could never create a world of fiction as completely as she did.  Plus, she absolutely rocks on Twitter.

My fourth choice?          Marilyn Monroe

 Ah Norma Jeane.  She was famous for playing the dumb blonde characters in films, but she was so much more complex than that.  She was a wonderful comedic actress with perfect timing, coupled with suffering depression and anxiety.  The circumstances behind her death will always be a mystery, but she has always fascinated me and always will.


My fifth choice?       Stephen Fry

The man is a British institution.  No fantasy dinner party would be complete without him.

My sixth and final choice?    Millicent Fawcett

Elected president of the National Union of Women's Suffrage Societies in 1890, she complained all her adult life for not only equal rights for women but also abolition of the slave trade.   She died one year after women gained the equal rights to vote as men did.  I can only imagine how extraordinary she was.

That would conclude my dinner invitations, although they could be endless, as I would like my dinner table to hold seven, my lucky number.

Other people who would have made the list (in no particular order)?  Samuel L Jackson.  Caitlin Moran.  Cleopatra.  Russell Brand.  Roald Dahl.  Maya Angelou.  Anna Kendrick.  Winston Churchill.  Abraham Lincoln.  Will.i.Am. Eleanor Roosevelt.  Robin Williams.

Who would you invite?

7 April 2017

What Ingredients Does Your Skincare Regime Need?

Anyone else feel completely confused about what skin care to buy these days? Especially when it comes to products specifically designed for anti aging.

Most advertisements for skincare products don’t tend to include a lot of detail. They’re often focused on the tactile benefits: how soft your skin will feel, how fine lines and wrinkles will be diminished. They rarely go into much detail about why these things are going to occur. On the rare occasion it does happen, the ad will tend to fling out the name of a chemical as if any potential consumers will have advanced degrees and know exactly how it’s going to make a difference to them.

Some of the chemical compounds you hear mentioned, flashing across the screen without any attribution as to why they are successful, are created solely by the manufacturers. It’s like you choosing two random ingredients from your kitchen, mixing them, then dubbing it “Ageicine” and claiming it can reduce the signs of aging.


Nevertheless, we buy the products because of the promises they make. Who doesn’t want smoother skin? To hold back the aging process for as long as possible? Improved skin texture glowing with good health on the back of these products? So we throw our money at them, not truly understanding what’s at the heart of their claims and - if we’re lucky - the success we achieve with them.

It’s not something we do often with other things. Most of the time, we’re discerning. We want to know what goes into our food, the calorific value, the number of fats, protein and carbohydrates that it contains. We’re careful to check the labels of the clothes we buy for washing instructions, too. We don’t just assume something, throw money at it, and hope for the best.

It’s natural to want to trust in the claims of the ad, the beaming face of the celebrity (who may or may not have achieved their look not through the blessings of the product, but kind lighting, the help of those such as Dr Jordan Rihani, and flattering makeup!). So we let ourselves believe based on literal but the claims themselves - and really, we shouldn’t.



What you actually need are recognized solutions and chemicals that have years of research behind them. So the next time you fancy splurging on a skincare purchase, go by your needs from the product and the subsequent compound you’re going to want to see is included.

I have been given some research with regard to what to specifically look for in a product dependent on what you are looking for and I have shared this below.

For Skin Brightening: Alpha Arbutin

If you have dark spots, acne scars, or just an uneven color across your skin, then look for products containing the synthetic bleaching agent Alpha Arbutin.

The term “skin bleaching” might sound problematic and worrying, so let’s allay some of those fears. Alpha Arbutin is not a skin bleach in the forms found in cosmetics. It’s not going to alter the pigment of your skin itself, but it will help to lighten any areas that are darker or more uneven than you would like.

I have a small patch of skin on my neck which is uneven in colour so I may try this out.

Look for it in concentrations of around 2% of the total product and use sparingly, only targeting the dark spots you want to lighten. It’s generally well-accepted and shouldn’t pose an issue to sensitive skin, but do a patch test first just in case.

For Skin Hydration: Hyaluronic Acid


Hyaluronic acid acts as both a lubricant and a humectant, meaning it helps the skin to retain moisture. It’s present in many products from the budget to the luxury end of the scale, at strengths of up to 10% of the mix.

If you’re looking for a deep moisturizing boost, then there’s little better than this clever little acid. For the best results, use at night applied to a clean face. It will feel slightly sticky on the surface, so be prepared for that - and make sure you wash your pillowcase frequently! However, the next morning you should wake up looking plumped and suitably refreshed

For Fine Lines/Wrinkles: Retinol A

Finally one I have heard of! There is no doubt that anti-aging is at the top of the tree when it comes to claims about the efficacy of a skin product. We all know that prevention is better than cure, so it’s no surprise most of us are willing to throw money at the problem to stave off the lines a little bit longer.

Retinol A is the product to look out for above all others. It tends to be more expensive than the standard drug store choices, but then again, isn’t it better to spend on items that are actually going to work?

One word of caution: if you are using retinols, then it is imperative that you use SPF protection during the day (even if it’s cloudy out) and wear a hat too if possible. Without that, your skin could be more susceptible to burning, so look for makeup or day cream that can get you covered.


( Image Links: 1 / 2 / 3 )


*Collaborative Piece

6 April 2017

The Grand National

Today is my annual post about the Grand National.  Some of you will read it, some won’t.  Some will look at the blog title and turn away, not wanting my post to spoil your once a year bet on the Grand National.  I am hoping that at least one of you reads this post and changes your mind about betting, forever.

I want to give you some names.  

Comeonginger.  Here All Along.  Cadoudoff.  Al Reesha.  Athletic.  Sensible Simpson.  

Sound familiar?  Probably not.  But these are the names of six horses who have died in the past week in UK horse racing.  Two died from a broken neck.  Three destroyed due to leg breaks.   One died from a heart attack.

Animal Aid began a record of the death of horses 10 years ago at the Cheltenham Festival.  Since then, 1523 horses have died.  That is 3 horses, every single week.

This weekend is the Grand National.  Families and co-workers get together at this time of year and choose their horses from sweepstakes or by finding the name of the horse they like best.  Jokes are made about who will pick the one who ends up falling.  After the race, you will not even remember the horse’s name, except if it won you some money.

Did somebody bet on Comeonginger yesterday because of the funny name?  He died of a broken neck on the course.  Did someone choose Athletic because he sounded like a good bet?  His broken hind leg rendered him useless to the world of horse racing and he was “destroyed”. 

Was your £5.00 bet worth the life of a horse?  Will it be on Saturday?

They say every year that the course is made safer.  But they cannot deny that in a race which is entered by the best race horses in the country, less than half have managed to complete the course in the past 3 years.  

Last year, out of the 41 horses that started the race, only 16 finished it.   The successful ones make it to the end and are whipped to the finish line.  Riders in the Grand National are actually required to carry a whip in order to race.

I was talking about horse racing last week and someone said to me “If we don’t use them for horse racing, what are horses for?”   Horses do not exist for our entertainment.  They do not need a reason to exist, just like us.

You will either place a bet tomorrow or you won't.  My words will either affect you, or they won't.  But my mission, as it has been every year on this blog, is to give you the facts, and let you make up your own mind.  


I ask you a question, as a national of so called animal lovers, are we not better than this?


Bling Up A Boring Outfit

Most of us have been there. There’s an important function we just can’t miss, but we have nothing to wear. Either we can’t afford a new outfit, we don’t have the time to shop for one or on the night, we decided that we hate everything in our wardrobes. It’s a complete nightmare! Or is it?

When you’re faced with a function and your wardrobe is lacking in exciting clothes, it’s the perfect opportunity for you to get your creative juices flowing. Get out that little black dress and make it look more interesting than ever before.

Sound good? Here are some tried and tested tips to help your bling up a boring outfit:

Have at Your Hair

One of the ways you can make your outfit look less boring than it really is is by drawing attention away from it completely. My favorite way of doing this is with my hair. I’ll either create an updo or add a stand out hair accessory that demands attention, so that even if I’m wearing my plainest outfit, I’ll still look interesting thanks to the masterpiece on top of my head.

Makeup

Similarly, manicuring your nails and ensuring that your makeup is picture perfect will go along way to giving you a more interesting, put together look, especially if you get a bit daring. I recommend Jeffree Star’s brilliantly bold beauty products if you really want to make an impact and ensure that no one at the party dares to call you boring. I particularly love the Beauty Killer pallet.


Earrings
5624934834_fc3359c67d_z.jpg


A good pair of earrings, such as Frost NYC gold hoop earrings, will add a touch of sparkle to your outfit, so even if you’re dressed in black from head to toe, there will be something that is very noticeable about you.


Underwear


Your underwear (hopefully) isn’t going to be on show at the office party, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t show it some attention. When I am wearing gorgeous underwear it always gives me a boost of confidence, which is more attractive than any dress!


Color Pops


If you are playing it safe with the color of your outfit, you shouldn’t do the same with your accessories. Team a yellow purse and heels with a little black dress and you’ll look ten times more fashionable without any effort. The same can be said for adding bold accessories, jewellery and hair ties, amongst other things.


Let There be Layers
14026185683_e589085ae4_z.jpg


If you have lots of boring clothes in your wardrobe, layering them up could make them much more interesting. For example, wearing a cute patterned cardigan over a plain white dress will give it an instant boost, and wearing a leather jacket over your little black dress will up your coolness and sex appeal immediately. So, take the time to go through your wardrobe to see which pieces can be mixed and matched with success.


Dress Down


Most women make the mistake of thinking that they always need to dress an outfit up to make it more interesting, but that isn’t always the case. One example would be teaming an expensive ball gown with a pair of battered converse. Admittedly, not everyone can pull this off, but if you’re one of the few, your outfit will be noticed as will your boldness in even trying it out.


Diamonds are Forever
8476801743_393abb9f2d_z.jpg


If you’re stuck with a boring little black dress or something equally as uninspiring, add some jewels to your outfit, ensuring that they are as plain and elegant as possible, and everyone at the event will assume that you’re one classy and understated lady rather than someone who has nothing of interest to wear.


Color Your Hair


Adding a few streaks of pink, yellow or green to your hair will automatically make you appear quirkier so that whatever you wear, all of the right people will be impressed with your bold and unusual style. Just be sure to use temporary dye, unless you’re cool with turning up at the office with rainbow hair come Monday morning.


Add a Beautiful Brooch


Brooches have fallen out of fashion somewhat, which is a shame because they are really good at blinging up boring outfits, and all you have to do is pin them to your top for a simple, sparkly makeover.


Add Glitter
14468685851_ff9c037884_z.jpg


If all of your shoes are the fashion equivalent of watching paint dry, you can spice them up and make them stand out by covering them in Mod Podge and then rolling them in the glitter of your choice; they’ll shimmer and shine and compliment pretty much any outfit you want to wear them with. they


Patterned Tights


One of my favorite ways to bling up a plain dress or skirt is by teaming them with a pair of patterned tights. Polka dot tights and stockings are my favorites, but you can get many different styles to suit your personality, so stock up and you’ll never have to wear a boring outfit again.


Wear a Hat


A well-placed hat will give you a cool hipster vibe even if the rest of your outfit is screaming office secretary or high school teacher!


Have Some Fun
3861600285_db7ea0e7db_z.jpg


If all else fails and you just can’t seem to make that boring outfit look better, you could always throw the rulebook out of the window and have some fun. Wear your sunglasses even though it’s night time, show off your Hello Kitty purse with pride and wear pieces that most people wouldn’t dream of throwing together. You might get some strange looks, but at least you won’t blend into the background.

What are your best tips for blinging up a boring outfit?